Nationwide Quarantine Policies for July and Manila City’s Hard Lockdowns

Last Updated on

The Manila City government will put 31 barangays under a two-day hard lockdown due to the number of COVID-19 cases in those areas. The lockdown will start on July 4 (Saturday, 12AM) and last until July 5 (Sunday, 11:59PM).

Signing Executive Order No.31, Mayor Francisco “Isko Moreno” Domagoso executes an enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) in the places listed below to facilitate disease surveillance, rapid risk assessment, and testing operations.

District 1 – Tondo 1

  • Barangay 20
  • Barangay 41
  • Barangay 51
  • Barangay 56
  • Barangay 66
  • Barangay 96
  • Barangay 97
  • Barangay 101
  • Barangay 106
  • Barangay 116
  • Barangay 118
  • Barangay 120
  • Barangay 128
  • Barangay 129

District 2 – Tondo 2 

  • Barangay 163
  • Barangay 173
  • Barangay 180
  • Barangay 185
  • Barangay 215

District 3 – San Nicolas and Sta. Cruz

  • Barangay 275
  • Barangay 310
  • Barangay 343
  • Barangay 380

District 5 – Port Area, Malate, San Andres, and Paco

  • Barangay 649
  • Barangay 724
  • Barangay 766
  • Barangay 775
  • Barangay 811

District 6 – Pandacan

  • Barangay 836
  • Barangay 846
  • Barangay 847

According to the certification from the Manila Health Department, these barangays posted more than three COVID-19 positive cases from June 15 to 29. A total of 147 incidents of infection were recorded in all 31 areas.

Strict Quarantine Rules, Exemptions

The hard lockdown entails people being strictly confined to their homes. However, there are individuals exempted from the policy, including health workers; military personnel; service workers employed at pharmacies, drug stores, and funeral homes; and utility personnel working in energy, cable, internet, telecommunication companies, and water, sanitation, and critical transport facilities, including port operation.

Essential workers handling goods and food delivery, as well as banking and money services, are also exempted. Barangay officials and media practitioners accredited by the Presidential Communications Operations Office (PCOO) and the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) are free to go outdoors and do their jobs while observing health protocols.

Meanwhile, other commercial, industrial, retail, and institutional activities not included in the exemptions will not take place within the period of the hard lockdown.

To ensure effective implementation of the policy, station commanders of police headquarters in the mentioned barangays will take posts in key locations. 

Updates on Nationwide Quarantine Policies

Meanwhile, President Duterte released on July 1 the updated guidelines on quarantine measures across the country. The National Capital Region’s general community quarantine (GCQ), which was supposed to expire on June 30, is extended up until July 15, as reported by Rappler. These areas are likewise under GCQ:

  • Luzon: Benguet, Cavite, and Rizal 
  • Visayas: Ormoc in Leyte, Mandaue City, Lapu-Lapu City, Talisay City, Minglanilla, and Consolacion in Cebu

The rest of the country is already under modified GCQ (MGCQ), while Cebu City remains to be under ECQ, the strictest of quarantine protocols. The latter records one of the highest numbers of COVID-19 cases.

Differences Among Community Quarantine Protocols

At present, there are four levels of quarantine measures in the country: ECQ, MECQ (modified enhanced community quarantine), GCQ, and MGCQ. As mentioned, ECQ is the strictest, while MGCQ is the most relaxed. The modified versions serve as transitions to policies that are more eased up. As a guide, here are the major differences among the measures, as reported by COVID19 Gov.

  • Movement of People
      • ECQ: All individuals must stay at home.
      • MECQ: All individuals must stay at home, and can only go out when getting essential goods.
      • GCQ: Vulnerable people must stay at home. Others can go out for work and essential travel.
      • MGCQ: People can go out with observance of mask-wearing, physical distancing, and other health measures. However, people who are high-risk, including those below 21 years old, above 60 years, with health conditions, or pregnant, are advised to stay at home still.
      • In all levels of community quarantine, frontliners, medical and non-medical, are allowed to travel.
  • Transportation
      • ECQ: Public transportation is suspended, along with domestic flights. International flights are limited.
      • MECQ: Public transportation is suspended, along with domestic flights. International flights are limited. People can bike to go to work or get essential goods. 
      • GCQ: Public transportation resumes, with observance of physical distancing. Travel between islands (GCQ to GCQ) is allowed.
      • MGCQ: No information yet.
  • Social Gatherings
      • ECQ: Mass gatherings are not allowed.
      • MECQ: Gatherings are limited to a maximum of five people.
      • GCQ: Gatherings are limited to a maximum of 10 people.
      • MGCQ: Gatherings may be allowed for up to 50 percent seating capacity.
  • Schools
  • Government:
    • ECQ: Skeletal workforce operates; the rest works from home.
    • MECQ: Skeletal workforce operates; the rest works from home.
    • GCQ: Alternative work arrangements, such as a four-day workweek, are adopted. 
    • MGCQ: Operations resume with the observance of health protocols.

As for the industries allowed to operate for each level of community quarantine, the government has established guidelines in this report.

Sources: Manila Public Information Office, Rappler, COVID19 Gov, PNA, Manila Times, Manila Bulletin


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Marketing without Borders: Reaching Property Seekers Outside the PH

Engaging property seekers outside the Philippines doesn’t mean a major overhaul of your strategies now that the first step of property search is done...