Outside Metro Manila: Lockdowns in Provinces

Last Updated on

In a bid to curb the rising number of novel coronavirus cases, the community quarantine protocol has been in place all over different parts of the country. While all eyes have been on Metro Manila, the lockdown policy takes effect in provinces, too. Some were covered by the Luzon quarantine, while others were implemented at the discretion of respective local authorities themselves. Below is a list of the areas in community lockdown:

Ilocos Norte

There are no confirmed cases yet in this northern province, but Governor Matthew Marcos Manotoc said in a Facebook video that it’s likely that the virus has already reached their municipality. With that, he’s taking measures to keep Ilocos Norte “COVID-19-free” or reduce the risk of a greater public health problem. 

Issuing Executive Order 60-20, he implemented general community quarantine. Under the order, the following are observed:

  • Suspension of classes
  • Work from home arrangements for the private sector
  • Checkpoints on the provinces of Badoc, Nueva Era, and Pagudpud
  • Denial of entry for those who exhibit COVID-19 symptoms 
  • 14-day quarantine for travelers from areas with coronavirus cases

Ilocos Sur

Similar to Norte, Ilocos Sur doesn’t have confirmed cases yet. But on March 15, the entire province started following community quarantine guidelines as a precautionary measure. Through Executive Order No. 14 signed by Governor Ryan Luis Singson, the policy takes effect until April 14. The guidelines include:

  • No transfer and/or referral of patients from neighboring provinces 
  • Checkpoints at borders
  • Suspension of social gatherings and tourism activities
  • Social distancing protocols at work-related meetings


Six cases were recorded in this province so far. For this reason, local authorities placed it under community quarantine. Two people were infected in San Jose del Monte, and then one in each of the provinces of Malolos, San Ildefonso, Guiguinto, and Baliwag.


The province has been observing community quarantine since March 17. Under Governor Jonvic Remulla’s order, the lockdown is quite the same as the community quarantine in NCR implemented before:

  • Curfew from 8PM to 5AM
  • Exemption of health workers and government officials from the curfew
  • Closing of malls and bazaars
  • Suspension of public events

Bacoor and Tagaytay are among the cities that declared their own community quarantine protocols.


To be specific, towns inside the province, namely Santa Maria, Mabitac, Famy, Siniloan, Pangil, Pakil, Paete, and Kalayaan observed the lockdown. The community quarantine guidelines are as follows:

  • Granting of passes to each household for the buying of food and medicine
  • Permission of tricycles to ply the roads, provided that there is only one passenger
  • Issuance of tickets and IDs to essential workforce personnel and logistics and cargo manpower
  • Release of special permits to vendors selling rice, meat, and fish

On March 15, Governor Ramil Hernandez announced the first confirmed case of coronavirus, a patient who lives in Santa Rosa City.


Following the directive from the president, Mayor Johnielle Keith Nieto implemented the community quarantine last March 15 after there were three confirmed cases in their municipality, specifically in two barangays, San Isidro and San Andres. The local chief issued a 12-point guideline regarding the lockdown. Some of the protocols included are:


While there’s no community quarantine in Cebu province yet, its capital is already under lockdown. Mayor Edgar Labella announced the lockdown as a preemptive and precautionary measure, as there were no confirmed cases yet in the city, only a number of persons under monitoring (PUM).

Meanwhile, in Mandaue, the first positive case was recorded last March 18. The city isn’t under lockdown yet as of writing.


The municipality is still “Covid-19 free,” but Mayor Evelio Leonardia announced a lockdown as a precautionary measure. The community quarantine in Bacolod has these guidelines:

  • Checkpoints at borders
  • Presentation of company IDs at checkpoints
  • Movement limited to health workers
  • Mall operations until 8PM


Both the province and the city are under community quarantine, regulating entries and exits of the public, as well as monitoring people who have travel history. As of March 15, there were five persons under investigation (PUIs) in the city, while 11 in the province. The community quarantine in Iloilo sanctioned flexible work schemes for businesses and alternative systems of education for the students affected by the suspension of classes.


Since March 15, Davao City has been observing community quarantine. Signing Executive Order 10, Mayor Sara Duterte noted that the protocol aims to stop the spread of the novel coronavirus in an “aggressive” and “proactive” manner. The community quarantine in Davao, however, isn’t a lockdown per se.

The first case of Covid-19 in the region is quarantined at Davao Regional Medical Center in Tagum City. For this reason, the mayors of the two cities issued a “partial lockdown” policy, restricting movements between the two municipalities.

As of writing, there are now over 200 cases of coronavirus infection in the country. The death toll stands at 17. Local government authorities are thereby stepping up to contain the further spread of the virus.

Sources: Gov Matthew Marcos Manotoc Facebook page, Philippine Information Agency, MSN, GMA News Online, ABS-CBN News, Politiko Visayas, Inquirer, Rappler, Manila Bulletin, CNN Philippines, Politics, Mindanews


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Modified Enhanced Listing Offer: Our Free Aid to Brokers

It has been a long and challenging two months of community quarantine in various phases as the world saw the effects of the pandemic....